Spirit of Helen Keller Gala

Honoree | William Foege, M.D., M.P.H.
Dr. Foege is a world renowned epidemiologist who is credited with devising the global strategy that led to the eradication of smallpox in the late 1970s. He has also championed many other public health research issues including childhood immunizations and the eradication of Guinea worm, polio and river blindness. Dr. Foege founded the Task Force for Child Survival and Development in 1984, continuing in this role while he became executive director of both The Carter Center and its Global 2000 River Blindness program in 1986. In 1999, he became a senior medical adviser for the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. Dr. Foege continues to be a leading advocate for many vital health issues, particularly child survival and development and preventive medicine. He is also the recipient of numerous prestigious awards, including awards from the Columbia Mailman School of Public Health, Harvard University, Yale University and the Centers for Disease Control, and was chosen as one of “America’s Best Leaders” by U.S. News & World Report.

Special Guest | Brian Williams
Brian Williams, NBC Nightly News Anchor and one of the nation’s foremost television journalists, will share a personal story about his late father, Gordon Williams, who worked with our inspirational founder, Helen Keller, during World War II while serving in the U.S. Army, to help rehabilitate soldiers blinded in battle.

Performance By Tony DeSare
Tony DeSare is jazz singer, pianist and songwriter who performs all over the world in theaters and jazz clubs including New York City’s legendary The Carlyle.

Gala Chairs
D. Brooks Betts
Desmond G. FitzGerald

Benefit Committee
Lama Al-Aswad, MD
Franklin Berger
Jennifer A. Buda
Mary Lindley Burton
R.V. Paul Chan, MD
Mary F. Crawford
Margaret Crotty
Leslie Dukker Doty
Gregory D. Feller
Kate Ganz
David F. Glassman
Jan F. Golann
Gretchen Grant
Demetrios Halikiopoulos, DO
Sheila Lennon
Nina M. McElroy
Beverly Miller Orthwein
Guy G. Rutherfurd, Jr.
Bruce A. Shipman
James H. Simmons III
Mavis Vann

Junior Committee
William FitzGerald, Co-Chair
Sarah Mason, Co-Chair
Joanna Merrill, Co-Chair
Hilary Aylesworth
Sam Barclay
Lily Dorment
Griffin Doty
Arianna Esposito
Juanita Haron
Miranda Hora
Will Hyrne
Christopher Marshall
Kat McElroy
Carey O’Neill
Cody Parker
Rueben Schatz
Max Wyeth